mehker

/ˈməhkər/: Handmade in Canada

Soup’s On!

So… it is cold out.  The weather is all over the place – hot, hot, hot like summer last week – then blistery cold winter temperatures this week.  Where did fall go?  I am all too happy to snuggle up on the sofa, throw a blanket over me and marathon my latest obsession on Netflix.  Add a cup of soup in there for good measure and I have my ideal evening.  Lee and I have been discussing getting some new soup bowls – thought I’d check out Etsy (as usual).  Below are 10 cool soup related things (made in / sourced from Canada) I came across… dreaming of cheddar biscuits and creamy soups all day long 😉 Stay warm friends!

Ben and Lily – Scandinavian Design Soup Bowls- Toronto, ON

The warm brown accented with the pop of turquoise is right up my ally!  Think of all the yummy french onion soups you can prepare over the winter with these bad boys!
ben and lily mid century toronto

KalikaBowlbyPottery – Peach & White Bowls – Nelson, BC

Simply elegant and modern.  I can see these hosting a variety of broth based soups from kale and legume to a classic minestrone.

kalikabowl nelson bc

Whistle and Work – shy soup bowl – Toronto, ON

Charming little bowl I would personally use while watching vintage black and white movies. It has a very audrey Hepburn feel.  I wonder what her favourite soup was?

whistleandwork shy toronto

HandmadesRovena – Nerd Get Well Soon Chicken Noodle Card – Toronto, ON

This makes me feel like I should have paid more attention in science class.  Regardless of my lack of molecular knowledge I think this card is pretty cute!

handmadesrovena toronto

DazzlingDezignz4U – Hand Stamped Soup Spoon – Windsor, ON

I want a spoon with the types of soup I eat stamped into it. For example: butternut squash.  I would eat chicken noodle soup with the butternut squash spoon. Just because I can.

dazzle windsor

Parceline – Lace Pattern Porcelain Bowl – Montreal, QC

Very pretty, granny chic bowls – perfect for a girls afternoon filled with stitching and most importantly bitching.

il_570xN.668528558_phb0

oharahale – Soup Cat Poster – Montreal, QC

One of my favourite posters I have come across as of late.  Cats… soup…Warhol inspired? YES on all fronts.  Meow.

soup cat

 Lots Of Wood – Hand Carved Spoons – Kawartha Lakes, ON

How beautiful are these?  This picture is particularly stunning.  I want to collect spoons now.

lotsofwood kawartha

AJmetissage – Small porcelain bowls – Montreal, QC

I like these for their subtle pop of colour.  This company makes a juicer that Is stunning – but I was looking for soup things – these fit the bill wonderfully.

ajmetissage montreal

PaperChat – Seinfield Typography Poster – Toronto, ON

A must have for every college dorm room (and young at heart kitchens) everywhere.

paperchat toronto

2 comments on “Soup’s On!

  1. dazzlingdezignz
    October 23, 2014

    Wow! Thank you so much for featuring my hand stamped vintage spoon with all of these gorgeous Canadian made pieces! I will now be visiting all of these shops for some Christmas gift ideas. 🙂

  2. dazzlingdezignz
    October 23, 2014

    Reblogged this on modern vintage keepsakes and commented:
    If you love soup, then you’ll love all of these soup related gift ideas. And I’m proud to say that my hand stamped SOUP’S ON spoon is among all of these great Canadian made items!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 23, 2014 by in Virtual Window Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
